Did the Regular Refs Blow One Too; PI Call on Carr Not Correct?...........
Since I was one of the most vocal in my opposition to the "replacements" I guess it's only fair to agree that even the best of the regular referees miss key calls too from time to time.
Such may have been the case on the play where a PI penalty was called on Brandon Carr against Brandon Marshall in the Cowboys end zone. Jason Garrett challenged the call and it was reviewed and subsequently overturned. Had that penalty not been overturned the Bears would have had first and goal and likely a TD on the next series and another 4 points added to their final score.
The NFL Rules state that PI rules are in force up until the time at which the ball is "touched" by either team. The replay clearly shows that the ball was tipped by the Dallas Safety but it also that the interference took place before the ball was tipped. Even so the referee apparently failed to catch this on the replay so the ruling on the field was reversed.
Although this had no effect on the eventual outcome of the game it does, in all honesty, show that even the best of the best blow a call once in a while which they shouldn't given their experience and superior knowledge of the rules. Despite that I'll forgive Walt Anderson and just welcome him and his crew back. The games seem to be under far better control now that they were before.
Dirty Laundry: Tips and pass interference
October, 6, 2012 Oct 6
By Kevin Seifert | ESPN.com
When it is legal for a defensive player to interfere with an eligible receiver once the ball is in the air? Many of you asked that question this week after referee Walt Anderson overturned a pass interference penalty on the Dallas Cowboys during the Chicago Bears' 34-18 victory.
Anderson's crew initially flagged Cowboys cornerback Brandon Carr for interference on Bears receiver Brandon Marshall, a third-down penalty in the end zone that would have set up the Bears with first-and-goal. Cowboys coach Jason Garrett challenged the call, noting that safety Darren McCray -- who was about two yards inside the end zone -- tipped the pass before it reached Marshall and Carr in the back of the end zone.
The rule in these situations seems clear. According to NFL Rule 8, Section 5, Article 1: "Defensive pass interference rules apply from the time the ball is thrown until the ball is touched." Therefore, any contact that occurs after it is touched -- i.e., McCray's tip -- is legal. A case example provided includes this assertion: "Interference rules ended when defensive player touched the pass."
But what happens when the contact occurs before the tip? A closer look at the replay indicates that's what happened. Carr had his left hand on Marshall's back and then used it to grab the front of Marshall's jersey. He also used his right arm to pin Marshall's left arm before Marshall dove for the ball. If interference rules end when a defensive player touches the pass, doesn't that mean they are still enforced before that point?
That's what I thought, as did longtime NFL executive Mike Perreira, who was analyzing the game on Twitter.Pereira examined the play several times and concluded: "the interference clearly occurred before the tip." But when Anderson announced the reversal, he said the ball was tipped "prior to the pass interference." The pass was ruled incomplete, and the Bears were left to attempt a field goal on fourth down instead of getting a first-and-goal.
Pereira acknowledged he was surprised by the decision. There are only two explanations here: Anderson couldn't find irrefutable evidence that the tip occurred before the contact, or he simply made a mistake. The number of camera angles available on Monday night makes the first possibility highly unlikely.
Now on to our weekly Penalty Tracker:
2012 NFC North penalty tracker
|Team ||Penalties* ||Yards ||Nullified Yards |
|Green Bay Packers ||34 ||301 ||65 |
|Detroit Lions ||29 ||272 ||3 |
|Chicago Bears ||27 ||183 ||25 |
|Minnesota Vikings ||24 ||249 ||44 |
|*Includes declined or offset | Source: NFL |
And I guess the footnote here is that the Bears are doing
significantly better than our NFCN brethren in the penalty