Weight training question....

Discussion in 'Anything But Football' started by DavidL, Oct 17, 2013.

1. DavidL

DavidL Pro-Bowler SuperFan

Ratings:
    +653 / 5 / -22
    ßearz ßuckz:
    663ß
    Do we have any weight training experts here? I have a question.
  2. blinddeafmute

blinddeafmute DaBears Ditka

Ratings:
    +1,407 / 4 / -2
    ßearz ßuckz:
    36ß
    I'm not an expert, but I play one on the internets.

Anyway, what is your question?
  3. Bearstuff

Bearstuff Yes, in the woods. Staff Member SuperFan

Ratings:
    +1,079 / 3 / -2
    ßearz ßuckz:
    429ß
    Actually, before you joined David there was a long and drawn out thread between two members. One was a high school coach and the other was a professional trainer.

Ask your question, and then sit back and watch the fireworks, lol. Both know what they are doing, but don't always agree on the BEST way to train. Maybe since you don't play football it might not be a debate.
  4. DavidL

Ratings:
    +653 / 5 / -22
    ßearz ßuckz:
    663ß
    Okay, here we go. I am nearly 67 years old. I have read that we lose muscle as we age, if we don't lift weights. I run, bike. and hike,but never lifted weights.

For best health results, I have been told that I should begin with a weight I can lift 16 times and work up to 24 reps. Then add weight to get back to where I can do only 16 reps and work to 24 reps, then add more weight, etc. Does this make sense?
  5. Blue Horse-shoe

Blue Horse-shoe Veteran

Ratings:
    +231 / 0 / -0
    ßearz ßuckz:
    214ß
    Lower weight more reps if u want tone.
    Heavier weight less reps if u want bulk .

A ur age u should go the lower weight more reps route . And start slow - otherwise you'll get too sore right off the bat and it'll make u quit .
  6. DavidL

Ratings:
    +653 / 5 / -22
    ßearz ßuckz:
    663ß
    Thanks. So is 16 reps a good number to start with? Then increase weight a bit when I can do 24? That is what was suggested.
  7. Blue Horse-shoe